The chapel of San Grato
Bubbio’s coat of arms
First anti-transgenic town

Torelli’s farm is located on the hill of San Grato, surmounted by the homonymous chapel built on the ruins of a previous Romanesque temple. However in the specific the date of construction dates back to the last century, more precisely, to 1888, and present an octagonal plan. This chapel is dedicated to San Grato, protector of crops against hail and other natural adversities associated in legend at adversities that the Saint had to face on his journey from Palestine to Italy to bring the famous relic. For all these reasons San Grato is one of the most revered saints in the peasant world.

The territory of Bubbio is a magnificent compendium of hills where the viticulture is an integral part of a millennial identity made up of spirituality, art, and rural landscapes. In addition the proximity with AlbaCanelliNizza Monferrato, and Acqui Terme recalls:

  • the splendor of the thermal tradition of Imperial Rome
  • the tradition about the cultivation of the vine, as evidenced the Roman wine’s amphora in the Bubbio’s coat of arms.

Moreover Bubbio’s town is the first at nationally level to have been recognized as an anti-transgenic town by prohibiting the cultivation and breeding of both plant and animal living organisms obtained by genetic manipulation throughout the municipal area.

This set of values has determined the inclusion by UNESCO of a large area of Langa and Monferrato in the World Heritage Site. The reason for the inscription in the World Heritage Site is below given:

Vineyards of Langhe, Roero and Monferrato are a unique and exceptional example of human interaction with its natural environment, which has been able to shape the territory to make it suitable for winemaking“.